Short answer
Greenies Original suits dogs of 5 lb and up and at least 6 months old that eat wheat, and holds the oldest VOHC plaque and tartar listing of the four chews here. Skip it, or ask your veterinarian first, if your dog gulps food, avoids wheat or poultry, or has little calorie room.
- Fits: dogs from 5 lb to 100 lb that chew rather than gulp, are 6 months or older, and tolerate wheat.
- Skip or check first: dogs under 5 lb or under 6 months, dogs that swallow treats whole, dogs on a wheat-free or restricted diet, and dogs whose calorie budget is already tight.
- Caveat: the label says to cut the main meal by the chew's calories, which is a large cut for small dogs.
How this page was put together
Sizes, weights, calories, age and feeding come from the four size pages on greenies.com. The seal comes from the VOHC accepted products list. One ingredient detail comes from a retailer's ingredient panel, named in the sources as plain text and not linked. We compare published data; we do not test chews on dogs. Everything was checked on October 13, 2026, and Amazon prices, ratings and images are not used.
Greenies Original key facts
- Maker
- Mars Petcare (Greenies)
- VOHC
- Plaque and Tartar claim, seal year 2007, checked on October 13, 2026. Row: “Canine Greenies – five sizes. Also available in FreshMint, Blueberry and Pumpkin Spice flavors.”
- Minimum age
- 6 months; not for dogs under 5 lb
- Feeding
- 1 per day
- Texture
- Chewy, dense (manufacturer)
- Grain-free
- No: wheat flour and wheat gluten are in the first five ingredients (retailer ingredient panel)
- Contains chicken
- Not stated. The panel shows “natural poultry flavor” with the species not specified, and the manufacturer page is silent (checked 2026-10-13)
- Made in
- USA, with ingredients from around the world (greenies.com)
Greenies Original sizes by dog weight
The four sizes touch at their edges: a 25 lb dog fits both Petite and Regular. Follow the pack label for edge cases, and size by the dog's weight today.
| Size | Dog weight | kcal per chew | Chew weight | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Teenie | 5–15 lb | 25 | Not published on the manufacturer page we checked (2026-10-13) | Manufacturer (greenies.com) |
| Petite | 15–25 lb | 52 | Not published on the manufacturer page we checked (2026-10-13) | Manufacturer (greenies.com) |
| Regular | 25–50 lb | 88 | Not published on the manufacturer page we checked (2026-10-13) | Manufacturer (greenies.com) |
| Large | 50–100 lb | 142 | Not published on the manufacturer page we checked (2026-10-13) | Manufacturer (greenies.com) |
Calories and ingredients: how big is one Greenie?
Greenies does not print a separate calorie count; it tells owners to reduce the main meal by the chew's kcal, which is the same figure. WSAVA advises that treats stay under 10% of daily calories (WSAVA, Feeding treats to your dog). The table divides one chew by the WSAVA daily treat budget at example weights (chew kcal divided by budget kcal, times 100). Budgets are averages for healthy adults at ideal weight, so a figure above 100% means one chew alone exceeds the guideline. For your own dog's number, see the calorie note on the Best dental chews page and ask your veterinarian.
| Size | kcal per chew | Chew as % of a daily treat budget, by dog weight |
|---|---|---|
| Teenie | 25 | 9 lb: 24 kcal budget, chew = 104%; 13 lb: 32 kcal budget, chew = 78% |
| Petite | 52 | 18 lb: 40 kcal budget, chew = 130%; 22 lb: 47 kcal budget, chew = 111% |
| Regular | 88 | 33 lb: 64 kcal budget, chew = 138%; 44 lb: 79 kcal budget, chew = 111% |
| Large | 142 | 55 lb: 94 kcal budget, chew = 151%; 77 lb: 121 kcal budget, chew = 117%; 99 lb: 146 kcal budget, chew = 97% |
The first five ingredients are wheat flour, glycerin, wheat gluten, gelatin and water, then a poultry flavor of unspecified species. That makes the formula a poor fit for wheat-free diets. See dental chews and sensitive stomachs for the general approach.
VOHC status of Greenies Original
The council lists Greenies Original (five sizes, with FreshMint, Blueberry and Pumpkin Spice flavors) for plaque and tartar, seal year 2007, on its VOHC accepted products page, checked on October 13, 2026. Weight Management, Hip & Joint Care, Grain-Free, Aging Care and Puppy are separate rows with their own years. The seal applies to the named product, not the brand, so check the pack. See the VOHC accepted list for every row.
Safety and feeding notes
The manufacturer states a gulping warning for this chew and tells owners to supervise. Feed one per day, in the size for the dog's weight, and keep it away from dogs under 6 months or 5 lb. Greenies carries a public safety history that this page does not summarize; the timeline with primary sources is in Are Greenies safe?
Who should skip Greenies Original
- Puppies under 6 months and dogs under 5 lb.
- Dogs that gulp or swallow chews in large pieces.
- Dogs avoiding wheat, wheat gluten or poultry flavor.
- Dogs with a vet-prescribed diet or a medical condition; WSAVA says such dogs may not suit ordinary treats.
Frequently asked questions
Is 2 GREENIES a day too much?
The label says one per day. Two Regular chews would be 176 kcal from treats alone, more than the WSAVA treat budget for a 44 lb dog (79 kcal). Follow the pack, size by weight, and ask your veterinarian before changing the amount.
Are Greenies high in calories?
Per chew they range from 25 kcal (Teenie) to 142 kcal (Large). Relative to the dog they are heavy: the Regular chew equals about 111% of the WSAVA treat budget for a 44 lb dog. The label asks you to cut the main meal by the same calories.
Are Greenies ok for dogs with sensitive stomachs?
We found no study on this. The recipe contains wheat flour, wheat gluten, gelatin and a poultry flavor, so a dog reacting to any of those may not suit it. See dental chews and sensitive stomachs and ask your veterinarian.
What are Greenies for dogs made of?
The first five ingredients on the retailer panel checked are wheat flour, glycerin, wheat gluten, gelatin and water, followed by a poultry flavor. The manufacturer page we checked does not give the ingredient order as text.
Alternatives and comparisons
For a grain-free chew with no animal protein listed, read Whimzees Brushzees or the plant-based VeggieDent FR3SH. A lower-calorie large-dog option is Milk-Bone Brushing Chews. Direct comparisons: Greenies vs Whimzees and Dentastix vs Greenies. Price per day: the cost calculator. The Greenies brand page covers every Greenies line on the VOHC list. More direct comparisons: Milk-Bone Brushing Chews vs Greenies, OraVet vs Greenies and Earthbones vs Greenies. By dog size: dental chews for small dogs and dental chews for large dogs; for dogs near the 6-month minimum age see dental chews for puppies.
Where to look
This button opens an Amazon search for the product name. We show no prices, ratings or availability.
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
Sources
- Greenies: Original Regular product page, accessed October 13, 2026. Feeding, age, texture. Sizes, weights and kcal come from the size pages: Teenie, Petite, Regular, Large.
- VOHC: Accepted products, accessed October 13, 2026. Claim and seal year.
- World Small Animal Veterinary Association: Feeding treats to your dog (June 2024), accessed October 13, 2026. The 10% guidance and the daily treat budgets.
- Retailer ingredient panel: Greenies Original Regular (retailer product page, not linked), accessed October 13, 2026. First five ingredients, grain content.